Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar Yoga is a form of Hatha Yoga. Iyengar Yoga explains the Pranayama (breath control) and the precision and alignment in the performance of Asana (posture).

It is developed by the legend B.K.S. Iyengar .He is known as the father of the modern yoga. So, it is named after him and called as Iyengar Yoga.

He introduced Step-by-Step approach. He systematised more than 200 poses and 14 Pranayama types from beginner level to expert level.

The main thing about Iyengar Yoga is,it often makes use of blankets, belts and blocks to encourage the practise. He gave lots of variations to the difficult yoga poses. So, that even beginners can practise gradually from simple poses to difficult poses easily with the help of his step by step approach.

Iyengar Yoga also mainly focuses the “eight limbs of yoga”. The eight limbs of yoga are described in the “Yoga Sutras” written by the Sage Patanjali about 2200 years ago.

Iyengar Yoga techniques, encourages the uses of Props. This is one of the main different from others. Because it allows even injured, ill students, elderly, tired students to get the benefits of many asanas via “supported” methods requiring less muscular effort.

Why Iyengar Yoga?

The below are the reasons to choose Iyengar Yoga.

  1. Accessible
  2. High Teaching Standards
  3. Safe
  4. Use of Props
  5. Structured
  6. Balanced
  7. Variety
  8. Integrated physical and mental practice

The three key elements that differentiate Iyengar Yoga from others are:

  1. Technique (body alignment and performance)
  2. Sequence (Sequence of Asanas and Pranayama to get desired results)
  3. Timing(Duration of the poses and Pranayama)

A famous Quote of B.K.S. Iyengar,

I have no right to brand my practices or teachings as Iyengar Yoga. My pupils, who follow me, call it Iyengar Yoga. The only thing I am doing is to bring out the in-depth, the hidden qualities of Yoga to the awareness of you all. What I do is pure, authentic traditional Yoga. It is wrong to differentiate traditional yoga Iyengar Yoga, as it is also not fair to brand Yoga, as Raja-yoga, Hatha-yoga, Laya-yoga, Kundalini-yoga, Taraka-yoga and so forth. There is no distinction between one Yoga and another. Yoga, like God is one.


  • Improves the anatomical alignments.
  • Difficult yoga poses also easily accessible through the use of props.
  • Increases the timing of the poses.
  • Thus, improves the endurance.
  • Elderly people and ill student also can practise.
  • Lots of variation to the difficult poses.
  • Relaxes the body and mind.
  • Focuses on renewal.
  • Helps to practise the poses effortlessly.
  • Increases the balance.
  • Restorative pose soothes the nervous system.
  • Quiets stills and calms the mind.
  • helps to release the tension
  • Reduces the depression.
  • It encourages the mindfulness.
  • Helps to increase the attention.
  • It helps to keep focus on your breath.
  • Releases the tension by using the breath as a tool.
  • Cures many stress related diseases.
  • Helps to pay fewer attentions to body and more attention to the mind.
  • Helps to deepen the self-awareness
  • Great pose to recover from chronically illness.
  • Increases the immune system.
  • Helps to enhance the mood states.
  • Helps to create the deliberateness of action
  • Connects you to the spiritual world.
  • Gives the deep relaxation.


Practise this yoga daily, will yield the better results.

It’s good to do this pose in the morning with empty stomach.

Always listen to your body, and know your limits. While practise, if you find any pain or discomfort, please exit the pose and ask for the expert’s guidance and doctor’s advice.

Please learn with the certified Iyengar yoga teachers.